Skip to main content
Toggle menu

Writing the Future

An open call for music creators

An image of composers Luke Lewis (top left), Nwando Ebizie (top right), Alicia Jane Turner (bottom left) and Alex Paxton (bottom right)

Our four composers for the current round of Writing The Future (2019-22) are Nwando Ebizie, Luke Lewis, Alex Paxton and Alicia Jane Turner. They are working with the ensemble over a three-year period (extended because of the pandemic) to create new pieces of music that expand the chamber music format involving immersive staging, speech transcription, and tapestry as compositional inspiration.

Time with musicians – I don’t know who would turn that down Mira Calix

Writing the Future is open to all music creators from all cultural and musical backgrounds who are passionate about their art form and would like the opportunity to apply that experience to writing for a contemporary music ensemble. We are particularly seeking relationships with artists from a non-classical background such as sound artists and improvising musicians, as well as music creators from historically under-represented groups or communities such as BAME (black, Asian or minority ethnic), LGBT, and those with a disability. As part of the scheme we will support each music creator with a bursary, relevant artistic mentoring and a production budget.

Writing the Future is generously supported by The Boltini Trust, Michael & Patricia McLaren-Turner, PRS Foundation and the Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation.

Writing the Future 2020-2022 Composers

Nwando Ebizie

Nwando Ebizie is a constellation point for a spectrum of multidisciplinary works that call for RADICAL change. She challenges her audience to question their perceived realities through art personas, experimental theatre, neuroscience, music and African diasporic ritualistic dance.

Read more about the composer and her project here.

Alex Paxton

Alex Paxton (1990) is a composer and jazz trombonist and educator based in the Uk. He was elected to the 9th International Composition Seminar and awarded commission ILOLLIPOP, performed by Alex & Ensemble Modern in 2020, he won the Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Prize,
Dankworth Jazz Prize, appointed London Symphony Orchestra Panufnik composer. 

Read more about the composer and his project here.

Alicia Jane Turner

Alicia Jane Turner is an interdisciplinary sound artist whose work spans contemporary theatre, performance art and experimental music. She creates and collaborates on projects that are raw, provocative and political through a feminist, queer lens.

Read more about the composer and her project here.

Luke Lewis

Luke Lewis is a composer, arranger and conductor. Mainly instrumental, sometimes electronic, and occasionally both, his music has been performed internationally by ensembles such as the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Athelas Sinfonietta Copenhagen, Esbjerg Ensemble and Orkest de Ereprijs. 

Read more about the composer and his project here.

London Sinfonietta gave me the opportunity to develop work outside of normal concert models and supported me from the inception of my idea to the performances. As an early-career composer, it was a valuable opportunity to create a large-scale work and collaborate with experienced professionals on the staging, lighting and direction. This was such an incredibly fulfilling project. Samantha Fernando, Writing the Future composer 2013/14
You are given the opportunity to dream big and fulfil the creation of projects that are ambitious, which is rare as an emerging composer, and having these performed as part of the London Sinfonietta’s season is invaluable for exposure. [The London Sinfonietta] are an ensemble truly dedicated to bold, new work and nurturing relationships with composers who are underrepresented and from different backgrounds, which is so needed in this industry. Alicia Jane Turner, Writing the Future composer 2019-21
Writing the Future has already been the most important project I've been involved in as a young composer, and this is even before the piece has been performed. Where most schemes ask a composer to write a piece for a set instrumentation that gets workshopped and performed often in a disappointingly sidelined 'Emerging Composer' concert, the London Sinfonietta clearly understands that the most interesting music comes more often from collaboration and discussion. The Sinfonietta have been interested to know what I want to write and what I think is important. They've listened and we've collaborated to make work that is truly what I'm 'about' as a young voice and also what the Sinfonietta is 'about' too. Being inquisitive, taking risks and trying to make the best and most interesting, relevant music possible. Luke Lewis, Writing the Future composer 2019-21
This has been such a wonderful scheme to have the privilege of being a part of. The biggest unique thing for me is that everything is set up to be so personalised and seem to be “specifically” about “My” music. Which I find is nice warm and nurturing for my work. I have been able to create a piece that really excited and stretches me, through working with both primary and secondary school children, leading improvisers and jazz musicians as well as being able to be mentored by George Lewis who is a massively important influence on my work & thinking as a composer and improviser and trombonist. Through this I have been able to produce a unique project that has been performed on a serious concert platform/ festival. More than anything else I feel I need people, producers and musicians to care about about my music - because it is such an intimate part of me - I feel the LS scheme is set up to do this authentically. Alex Paxton, Writing the Future composer 2019-21

Previous participants

Writing the Future 2017-19

Josephine Stevenson, Ed Nesbit, Patrick Brennan and Oliver Leith

Read more about our composers here.

Writing the Future 2013/14

Gregory Emfietzis, Adam Fergler, Samantha Fernando, Geoff Hannan, Aaron Holloway, Matthew Kaner, Amber Priestley, Andrew Thomas, Tristan Rhys Williams.
The above composers were commissioned to write for The New Music Show: the London Sinfonietta’s day-long festival featuring live performances, installations, film, and talks. In 2013 The New Music Show included a series of talks curated with the Royal Philharmonic Society as part of their bi-centenary, and marked the culmination of the Southbank Centre’s The Rest is Noise festival.

Writing the Future 2011/12 

Mark Bowden, Shiva Feshareki, Edmund Finnis, Tim Hodgkinson, Jordan Hunt, Edward Jessen, Isambard Khroustaliov, Duncan MacLeod, Bushra El Turk.