Skip to main content
Toggle menu


A programme of electro-acoustic music and manipulated sound

Kings Place, London


The London Sinfonietta explores the boundary between sound and music in this fascinating programme, delving into the earliest innovations by twentieth-century composers using tape to manipulate sound, and comparing these with their modern-day counterparts using electronics and even artificial intelligence as compositional devices.  

London Sinfonietta’s Sound Unwrapped is part of an award-winning concert series at Kings Place which explores manipulated sound in music. It is preceded by a pre-concert performance and talk about Artificial Intelligence in music and followed by a late-night performance of electronic tape pieces in Soundscape. 

The schedule for the evening:

6.30pm, Kings Place Hall 2: Artificial Intelligence in Music
Explore the complex and exciting relationship between Artificial Intelligence and electronic music with composer and Professor in Computer Music, Eduardo Reck Miranda. Miranda is a leading musical innovator whose recent projects delve into the field of human-machine interfaces, where brain waves will replace keyboards and voice commands. Tonight’s pre-concert event will feature a new piece by Miranda, which traverses the advent of AI and pushes music beyond conventional bounds.

Eduardo Reck Miranda  Qubism (world premiere)

7.30pm, Kings Place Hall 1: main concert
The London Sinfonietta performs a range of contemporary pieces which explore the boundary between sound and music, contrasting the virtuosity of acoustic instruments with the huge variety of sound made possible by electronics.

Jonathan Harvey  Ricerare una melodia 
Kaija Saariaho  NoaNoa 
Luciano Berio  Naturale 
David Fennessy  The Room is the Resonator 
Dai Fujikura  K's Ocean

Ailís Ní Ríain  doomed, done for, damned, and still (London Sinfonietta commission, world premiere)

Christian Mason  I wandered for a while

9.15pm, Kings Place Hall 1: Late-night Tapes
A performance of two 20th-century electronic icons: Stockhausen’s Gesang der Jünglinge, arguably the first real masterpiece of electronic music, and Varèse’s Poème électronique, scattered with sounds not usually considered ‘musical’ to create a sense of liberation between sounds. These classic tape pieces will be reimagined using Kings Place’s brand new cutting-edge spatialisation systems and followed by a new electro-acoustic work.

Karlheinz Stockhausen  Gesang der Jünglinge
Edgard Varèse  Poème électronique

Jonathan Berman  conductor
London Sinfonietta:
Karen Jones  flute
Peter Moore  trombone
Jonathan Morton  violin
Paul Silverthorne  viola
Sally Pendlebury  cello
Joe Richards  percussion
Clíodna Shanahan  piano
Jonathan Green  sound projection
Eduardo Reck Miranda  electronics
Paulo Itaborai de Barros  technical assistant

Please note: the pre-concert and post-concert events are free to ticket holders of the Turning Points: Sound Unwrapped concert.

Couch to Concert

First time attender?  Try “Couch to Concert” at this event
If you’re a musically curious first-time attendee and you’d like to explore contemporary classical music, find out more about Couch to Concert and sign up for a free ticket to this event

Find out more
Produced by the London Sinfonietta
The work of the London Sinfonietta is supported by Arts Council England and the John Ellerman Foundation, and with the friendly support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.
  • Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation

Support us

If you are enjoying our events, please do consider donating at whatever level you can afford to support the London Sinfonietta’s work and musicians both now and in the future – in schools, on the concert platform and in the community. It might be the price of a coffee, or the cost of a ticket to one of our live events.



Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.

  • £8.50-£25

    Venue: (view map)

    Kings Place
    90 York Way
    N1 9AG
    United Kingdom

    Box Office No:
    020 7520 1490