Skip to main content
Toggle menu


A story of an arpeggio in space and time

Southbank Centre's Queen Elizabeth Hall, London


This concert focuses on our perceptions of time, through two very different yet complementary masterpieces. The London Sinfonietta and Daniel Pioro will perform Gérard Grisey’s Vortex Temporum, a work that takes us through three time frames: ‘normal’, human time, the ‘expanded’ time of whales and the ‘compressed’ time of birds, via this pioneering spectralist composer’s virtuoso imagination. This late masterwork fulfilled Grisey’s vision of a music that transfigures our experience of time. On a symphonic scale, revealing dizzying dances and lavish harmonic language, the music carries us on a journey through boundary-breaking sound-worlds.

Another ensemble which is yet to be announced will perform the first half, which features specially created writing by Michael Morpurgo, sets out to explore ‘nature time’ in Vivaldi’s iconic series of violin concertos, The Four Seasons.

Antonio Vivaldi  The Four Seasons
Gérard Grisey  Vortex temporum

Daniel Pioro  violin
Andrew Zolinsky  piano
Geoffrey Paterson  conductor
Sir Michael Morpurgo  narrator
London Sinfonietta 

This event is produced by the Southbank Centre, with the friendly support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.
  • Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation

Support our work

If you are enjoying our events, please do consider donating at whatever level you can afford to support the London Sinfonietta’s work and musicians both now and in the future – in schools, on the concert platform and in the community. It might be the price of a coffee, or the cost of a ticket to one of our live events.



Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.

  • £15 ⁠–⁠ £45

    Venue: (view map)

    Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre

    Box Office No: