Skip to main content
Toggle menu


Late romanticism to modernism

Queen Elizabeth Hall, London


The story of the evolution of new sounds in music across the 20th and into the 21st centuries continues. Presenter Jonathan Cross joins conductor David Atherton to tell another story of music across the past 100 years, through music and video of the era, as composers evolved a new musical language following the end of musical romanticism. Affected by the hugely turbulent century, artists of all kinds created a ‘modernist’ movement whose effects are still being embraced – or rejected – today

Arnold Schoenberg (arr Greissle) Five Pieces for Orchestra
Pierre Boulez Dérive 1            
Elizabeth Lutyens Six Tempi  
Anton Webern Quartet Op 22        
Gyorgy Ligeti Melodien            
Sir Harrison Birtwistle Cantus Iambeus   

David Atherton conductor
Jonathan Cross presenter
London Sinfonietta

In association with 2020 Vision

Support our work

Help us to do what we do best. From as little as £50 per year, you can help make new music happen and support our work as a London Sinfonietta Pioneer.



Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.

  • £15 - £20 (Booking fee £3)

    Venue: (view map)

    Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre

    Box Office No: