Skip to main content
Toggle menu

Patrick Brennan

Patrick Brennan

The London Sinfonietta is pleased to be commissioning a new work for solo piano by Patrick Brennan as part of its ongoing Sinfonietta Shorts series. Sinfonietta Shorts are bite-sized pieces of new music by today's leading composers; commissioned, premiered and released by the London Sinfonietta. Patrick Brennan’s new work will be premiered in January 2020.

Patrick Brennan’s new work, Aquam nostrum pecunia bibimus, ligna nostra pretio comparavimus, draws influences from medieval formes fixes and takes its title from the book of Lamentations (Chapter 5). The piece will be comprised of several miniatures and is a tribute to the late composer Oliver Knussen, whom Brennan regards as a friend and mentor. The last of the set of miniatures, will be an expansion of a short choral movement written by Brennan wrote several years ago which Knussen particularly enjoyed.

Patrick Brennan is a current participant in the London Sinfonietta’s open-call programme Writing the Future, which supports earlier-career composers and music creators through the process of making new work with the ensemble. Writing the Future is supported by The Boltini Trust, Jerwood Arts, The PRS for Music Foundation and Michael & Patricia McLaren-Turner.


About Patrick Brennan

Patrick Brennan was born in Derry, Northern Ireland. He studied piano performance with Julian Jacobson at the Royal College of Music and composition with Julian Anderson and Hans Abrahamsen at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and the Royal Danish Academy of Music respectively. 

His music has attracted national and international attention, with recent commissions and performances coming from orchestras and ensembles including the London Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra, Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie, Ulster Orchestra and the Zurich Chamber Singers. He has worked with several leading conductors and performers including Sir Mark Elder, François-Xavier Roth, Pierre-André Valade, Oliver Knussen, Emilio Pomarico, Huw Watkins and Rolf Hind. 

Brennan has been featured as a composer at leading festivals including ManiFeste, Lucerne and Sorø, and represented Ireland at ISCM ‘World Music Days’ 2015. He was a “Guildhall Artist” Fellow at the GSMD and a designated Royal Philharmonic Society “Young Artist”. He was appointed BCMG/SaM Apprentice Composer-in-Residence and, in July 2016, was awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society composition prize.

Patrick is currently completing his PhD in composition at King’s College, Cambridge, where he was supervised by Richard Causton.

Patrick Brennan's new work for solo piano has been made possible through the Writing the Future programme, supported by The Boltini Trust, Jerwood Arts, The PRS for Music Foundation and Michael & Patricia McLaren-Turner.