Skip to main content
Toggle menu


CoMA (Contemporary Music for All) was founded in 1993 to enable musicians of all abilities to participate actively in contemporary music, championing an inclusive ethos in projects across the UK and Ireland. London Sinfonietta partner with CoMA each season to enable musicians of all abilities to create and perform new work alongside expert professionals. 

Join the London Sinfonietta and CoMA for a marathon day of contemporary music. Have the opportunity to rehearse and perform contemporary repertoire alongside musicians from the London Sinfonietta.

Sign up for the opportunity to perform a piece from the ABRSM Spectrum series for one of the following instruments: piano, cello, violin, trumpet, clarinet, piano duet or string quartet. The concert will take the form of a marathon of short, 5 minute performances, and will be open to members of the public to attend.

What? CoMA is a national organisation committed to bringing contemporary music to people whatever their musical ability. This year, they have teamed up with the London Sinfonietta for a marathon day of performances of the ABRSM Spectrum series.

There will also be the opportunity to sign up for an open masterclass, where a member of the London Sinfonietta will workshop a piece of your choice.

Who? We welcome interest from all members of the public (those ages under 18 will need to be accompanied by an adult). Participants will have the opportunity to rehearse and perform a piece of music from the Spectrum series as part of the CoMA marathon day. The Spectrum series is written for solo instruments, string quartet or piano duet. Piano, Cello, Violin, Trumpet, Clarinet. Therefore, performers will need to perform on one of these instruments.

There is no charge to participate.

If the numbers signed up to participate exceed the number of performance slots available, names will be drawn at random.

When? Participants will be required to be available all day on Sunday 8 March at Queen Mary University of London. Rehearsals will take place from 10.30am-12.30pm, each performer will have 5 minutes with the accompanist to rehearse their piece. If the piece is unaccompanied, then they will have the opportunity to rehearse with a musician from the London Sinfonietta.

The Spectrum Marathon will take place from 1.30-3.30pm and will be open to members of the public.

Specific times for rehearsal and performance will be allocated closer to the day.

How? To sign up for the project, please go to or contact Christine Andrews on / 020 7239 9340

Download the flyer


London Sinfonietta Masterclass

Please also let us know if you would like to have the opportunity to take part in an open masterclass with a musician from the London Sinfonietta.

What? Musicians from the London Sinfonietta will listen to your chosen piece and work with you to develop your piece. The masterclass sessions will be open to the public to watch.

Who? Anyone who plays one of the instruments listed below may apply. You can choose your own piece to perform, although we encourage people to select a piece written between 1900 and 2019.

When? The masterclass will take place between 10.30am and 12.30pm. If you are also performing in the Spectrum Marathon concert, you will receive a 5 minute rehearsal time. Each person will have approximately 20 minutes for their masterclass.

Please note, there will be a £10 charge to offset administration costs.

In 2018, a joint CoMA/London Sinfonietta concert featured music by Philip Cashian, Tansy Davies, Jonathan Harvey, Roxana Panufnik, Gregory Rose and Philip Venables, and included premieres of Festival commissions by Hannah Kendall and George Lewis.