Skip to main content
Toggle menu


Warwick Arts Centre

London Sinfonietta in rehearsal © Domizia Salusest

Turning Points explores game-changing composers of the 20th century through new concert experiences. This event takes the 1960s as its focus, and the social and political background that provided the setting for many composers to radically reinvent the possibilities of composition. Presented by Jonathan Cross, the evening includes an illustrated talk featuring footage from the era and musical snippets from London Sinfonietta musicians, including performances of the music of Berio, Boulez, Ligeti and Stockhausen: the influence of whose ground-breaking styles can still be felt today.

György Ligeti Poème Symphonique (for 100 metronomes;1962)
Karlheinz Stockhausen Adieu (extract for wind quintet;1966)
Pierre Boulez Domaines (extract for solo clarinet extract;1968)
Luciano Berio Sequenza VII (for oboe; 1969)
György Ligeti 10 Pieces for Wind Quintet (1968)

Professor Jonathan Cross presenter
London Sinfonietta



Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.