Skip to main content
Toggle menu


From the delicacy of a single snowflake, whispering as it falls from the sky, to vast, impenetrable snowdrifts – Hans Abrahamsen’s monumental artwork Schnee is an all-encompassing experience.

In this hour-long tour de force Abrahamsen uses a series of interlocking canons to create a magnificent and ethereal piece of musical architecture. 

The Sinfonietta blended rigour with expressive depth in Hans Abrahamsen’s Schnee " The Guardian, December 2016
Much of the music is dampened as a snow-laden landscape and is equally mesmerising Classical Source

Production overview

Duration: 57mins
Genre: Orchestral
Description: 10 canons for 9 instruments
Orchestration: 1/picc/alto.1/cor.1/Eb/bass.0  1 perc 2 pianos = 9 players + conductor
Production Notes: Two matching grand pianos, Steinway Model Ds, which can be prepared (using paper and blu-tack)
Publisher: Music Sales
Commissioned: Westdeutscher Rundfunk for Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik 2008

Find out more

Please contact London Sinfonietta CEO & Artistic Director Andrew Burke for more information.

Click here to return London Sinfonietta's Projects.