Skip to main content
Toggle menu


Georg Friedrich Haas' new work for the London Sinfonietta received its world premiere in November 2019.  The commission is inspired by the distinctive art work of iconic British artist Bridget Riley whose work has captivated a wide public across a long career.  The art in black & white and colour often creates optical illusions as the image appears to move before one's eyes. Haas’ use of harmony is particularly appropriate to Riley’s work as the composer's style alternates between the conventional ‘western’ tuning and that built on natural overtones, causing the music to 'vibrate' for the listener.

The new work received its world premiere performances in the UK in November and December 2019 and is available for subsequent performances by the London Sinfonietta after this time.

The London Sinfonietta has played a leading role in introducing the music of Georg Friedrich Haas to a UK audience, with premieres of in vain, Atthis, the Second String Quartet, Ich Suchte, aber ich fand ihn nicht, Open Spaces II and The Last Minutes of Inhumanity a commission for the 1418 NOW Festival marking the centenary of the First World War.  

A gradual interference of soundscapes….vibrations Haas on this new commission
The orchestra maintained an astonishing intensity of communication. An enthralling performance " The Guardian, on London Sinfonietta’s performance of 'in vain'

Production breakdown

Description: Concert work   
Duration: c.45'
Orchestration:  1/alt,01+bass,0 : 1010 : 22222 : piano : percussion  = 17 players + conductor 
Artists: Brad Lubman (conductor) gives world premiere performances
Commission: London Sinfonietta commission in association with Southbank Centre and hcmf//
World premiere performances: Sat 23 November 2019 (hcmf//) and Thur 5 December 2019 (London)

Find out more

Please contact London Sinfonietta CEO & Artistic Director Andrew Burke for more information.

Click here to return London Sinfonietta's Projects.