Skip to main content
Toggle menu


Seminal works of the movement from both sides of the pond

Portsmouth Guildhall


From experimental beginnings in California and New York loft and gallery spaces to its role as a mainstay of contemporary music, this concert brings together seminal works of the minimalist movement from both sides of the pond.

The programme includes the exciting dancing textures created by pioneering multi-layered tape pieces such as Steve Reich’s Violin Phase and Vermont Counterpoint. Richly complex patterns create compelling listening in Julius Eastman’s Joy Boy and modern New York icon Julia Wolfe’s East Broadway. We’ll look to the British version of the movement with Michael Nyman’s captivating In C Interlude while the weaving melodies hypnotise in Anna Clyne’s Just as they are. The concert will close with a performance of Gavin Bryars’ extraordinary Jesus' Blood Never Failed Me Yet, in celebration of the composer’s strong links to Portsmouth in his highly experimental ensemble the Portsmouth Sinfonia.  

Philip Glass  1+1
Anna Clyne  Just as they are
Steve Reich  Vermont Counterpoint
Julius Eastman  Joy Boy
Steve Reich  Violin Phase
Julia Wolfe  East Broadway
Michael Nyman  In C Interlude
Gavin Bryars  Jesus' Blood Never Failed Me Yet

London Sinfonietta


The work of the London Sinfonietta is supported by Arts Council England and the John Ellerman Foundation.
Kindly supported by the Garfield Weston Foundation. 


Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.

  • £25

    Venue: (view map)

    Guildhall Square,
    PO1 2AB