Skip to main content
Toggle menu


London Sinfonietta’s most iconic commissions from the architectural principles that guide Xenakis’ Thallein, to the richness of Birtwistle’s Silbury Air. A programme of landmark commissions accounts the ensemble's musical journey in over 50 years of music-making.

We owe the London Sinfonietta more than we shall ever know The Observer

50 years after its first concert, the world's top new music ensemble is still as pioneering as it was on that momentous night in January 1968 The Times

Production overview

Description: Concert of Sinfonietta sized masterworks
Duration:  90'                       
Genres: Concert music            
Music: London Sinfonietta chamber ensemble commissions from landmark composers of the 20th century, including Sir Harrison Birtwistle Silbury Air, Iannis Xenakis Thallien, Wolfgang Rihm Chiffre ii : Silence to be beaten, Colin Matthews Contraflow
Instrumentation:  1111 : 1110 : 11111 : piano, harp, 1 percussion = 15 players + conductor
Commission: London Sinfonietta
First Performed: various
Publisher: various

Find out more

Please contact London Sinfonietta CEO & Artistic Director Andrew Burke for more information.

Click here to return London Sinfonietta's Projects.